RSS Feed

Snow Words

Lots of winter words and phrases being with the word “snow.”  You can use them in a elision task to build phonological awareness skills.

For example:

Say “snowman” without saying “snow”:  man

Say “snowman” without saying “man”: snow

This is a good task for beginners because the answer will either always be “snow” or the word attached to “snow.”

Or you can try a syllable addition task.

For example:

Say “snow.”  Now add “man” to the end: snowman

Many phonological awareness idea books include this thematic task – so I cannot take full credit.  But I have already come up with a list of words for my readers, because everyone likes saving time!  This is best done in a small group or can even be done in one-one therapy.

I used to have the children think of as many words and two word phrases that began with snow as they could.  I gave them hints as needed.  I would draw the pictures and write the words as in the poster above.  Then we would begin the elision task using the words.  Often I had access to a dry erase board so I would draw the picture, then when we began the elision task, I would erase part of the word I wrote and redraw the new picture.  For example, I would change a snowman to a regular man.  It was very entertaining, especially because I do not draw very well.

Here are some “snow” words and phrases my students and I came up with:

snow fort, snowman, snowbank, snowshoe, snowy, snow day, snow angle, snowball, snow pants, snow globe, snowfall, snowblower, snowmobile, snowstorm, snowbird, snowflake, snowdrift, snowplow, snow boots, snow hat, snowing, snow monster, snowboard, snow shovel, snow cone, snowed, snowmaker, snow leopard, show shower, snowsuit, snow tire, Snow White.

About Miss Dana's Games

I created this blog because I miss being a practicing clinician. Currently I am a Ph.D. student in Communication Sciences and Disorders. I have over 14 years experience working with children with speech and language disorders. I believe some of the best therapy can be done within the classroom, within small and large groups, and is meaningful because it is based on what the teacher is doing in the classroom. Here I hope to share many therapy ideas that are based on common classroom themes and can be done with small and large groups. If you are looking for more of an idea, check the tags at the bottom of the post as well as the search function. Comments and questions are welcome but I will delete anything rude or spammy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

